Welcome Page | TBR Etc.

Hi.

Welcome to TBR Etc.! I write about books. 

#12DaysofReadThis 2017 | March

 Day 3 of #12DaysofReadThis! This month had a very clear favorite (hint- Im still thinking about this book!)   Don't forget about the Giveaway I'm hosting on Instagram! I'm giving away $50 USD to the Book Depository for books of your choice. Open internationally. It runs from today through January 1st at 9 AM.  Enter here!  

I Let You Go | Clare Mackintosh | The book opens with an accident. A young mother is crossing the street with her son when his hand slips away from her and he gets killed by an oncoming car. We then flash forward and meet Jenna, now alone, who has recently moved to a remove Welsh town to try and start a new life. We hear from the police who are investigating the case and get to know Jenna as she tries to move on. The police chapters were particularly lifelike- Mackintosh is a former police officer herself. For fans of books with huge plot twists. Avoid if you are sensitive to abuse or to losing a child. Rating, 3.75 

A Little Life | Hanya Yanahihara | The plot is simple: it's a story about four friends who are broke and move to Manhattan after college to try and find their way. The story centers on Jude, a man with a past that is far worse than anyone realizes. The story follows them throughout the decades and their relationship with family, addiction, success, mortality, and each other. it is now one of my favorite books of all time. The story and characters will stick with you. Trigger warnings- there's a reason some people call this pain porn. It will absolutely rip your heart out, but will give you a lot to think about. Rating, 5

The Cutaway | Christina Kovac | I received this book as an ARC and ended up really enjoying it. Virginia Knightly is a news reporter with a photographic memory and the most made for TV name ever. She becomes incredibly affected by one of her recent stories. She notices some inconsistencies with the police report and eventually finds herself obsessed enough to try and figure out what happened on her own. I liked that the story was told from the perspective of a reporter, instead of from the police officers. This is a good book for those who like crime mysteries with strong female leads. Rating, 3.5

Year of Yes | Shonda Rimes | I like Shonda Rimes. I like her shows, I like Shondaland, and I like her humor.  She wrote this after her sister pointed out to her that she says no to everything. She was achieving success without really living. Her voice shines through- her real life humor is very similar to what you hear in Grey's Anatomy. The best part about this was that she wasn't apologetic or self-deprecating about her success. She worked hard and earned it and celebrates herself in a way that is motivating and authentic. Fans of Amy Poehler's or Tina Fey's memoirs will like this one too. Rating, 3.75

Find me me here! 

BLOGLOVIN' | GOODREADS PINTEREST | INSTAGRAM  | TWITTER


#12DaysofReadThis 2017 | April

#12DaysofReadThis 2017 | April

#12DaysofReadThis2017 | February

#12DaysofReadThis2017 | February