Welcome Page | TBR Etc.

Hi.

Welcome to TBR Etc.! I write about books. 

TBR & TBD | February 2018

TBR & TBD | February 2018

Holy new releases, February! There are SO many good books coming out this month. I have no idea how I'm going to get to them all. Good thing it's still freezing in Chicago... I didn't want to leave my house anyway. 

TBR and TBD Feb.png
how to stop time.jpg

I've been waiting for this one for what seems like forever! I feel in love with Haig's writing after reading The Humans a couple of years ago and I'm very happy to have a new story of his in my hands. Tom Hazard has a secret. He looks like a normal 41 year old, but he has a condition that causes him to age at 1/19th of the rate of a normal man. There is a secret society of people who have this condition who help each other through, and the only rule is that you cannot fall in love. If this is anything like The Humans, I'm expecting to be able to suspend my disbelief and to enjoy the rich character development.

 TBR 2: Force of Nature | Jane Harper | Release Date: February 6th, 2018

force of nature.jpg

It's the follow up to The Dry- a massively well regarded mystery that came out last year! The setting is central to these books- in this one, five woman go on a work team-building trip to a hike on a mountain. Only four women return. I hope to get to The Dry and Force of Nature soon- I love a tightly constructed mystery! 

TBR 3: An American Marriage | Tayari Jones | Release Date: February 6th, 2018

an american marriage.jpg

 I was lucky enough to receive this as an ARC and I am happy to highly recommend it. A young black couple was in the wrong place at the wrong time and the husband, Roy, gets sent to jail for a crime he did not commit. After several years, he gets released, only to find out that while he was locked up, the life he had moved on. To give you an idea about how good this writing is... I was hooked on these characters by the end of the first chapter. Pick this up- it's going to be on so many "best of" lists. It'll certainly be on mine. (Help. It's February and I'm still in the 'best of x year' mode!)  

TBR 4: White Houses | Amy Bloom | Release Date: February 13th, 2018

white houses.jpg

This book is said to be for fans of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Pairs Wife and its a story inspired by the real life relationship of a reporter named Rachel Hickock and Eleanor Roosevelt and I am here for it!! Rachel was reporting on Eleanor's husband, FDR's campaign but during the process fell in love with Eleanor. She eventually moves into the White House as "First Friend" and becomes a complicated rival of the President. Yes please!! 

TBD Sunburn | Laura Lippmann | Release Date: February 20th, 2018

Sunburn.jpg

Possibly the most hyped book I've heard about in early 2018, two strangers meet at a bar and have a one night stand. Polly is headed west and Adam is just passing through, but they soon find they're able to extricate themselves from one another. They're both working an angle, but somebody ends up dead. The premise is really captivating, and if this is well written I have a feeling I'm going to tear right through it. (I'm also predicting/hoping that this will be a Book of the Month pick. I want to get my hands on this ASAP!)

Find me me here! 

BLOGLOVIN' | GOODREADS PINTEREST | INSTAGRAM  | TWITTER

Review | An American Marriage | Taryari Jones

Review | An American Marriage | Taryari Jones

Review | Anatomy of a Scandal | Sara Vaughan

Review | Anatomy of a Scandal | Sara Vaughan