Welcome Page | TBR Etc.

Hi.

Welcome to TBR Etc.! I write about books. 

Quick Lit | April 2018
Books Read in April 2018 | Quick Lit

So 10 books in a month is a lot, I'll admit. But I had a couple of road trips and a lot of time in the car, plus most of these were 4+ stars so it went fast! Linking up with Anne  Modern Mrs Darcy, as always.

Dark Matter | Blake Crouch

Books Read in April 2018 | Quick Lit

Whenever people would ask "what's your favorite book of all time?" I never had a real answer. There were some contenders and books that I really love, but there wasn't anything that gave me the-THIS, THIS is my favorite- feeling... until Dark Matter! It was so incredible. I tend to enjoy books that have a well-developed character you can root for, an engaging plot, and something that makes you think. Dark Matter has those qualities in spades. Jason Dessen gets kidnapped and taken to a mysterious warehouse in the Southside of Chicago and his captor wants to know: "Are you happy with your life?" The hype on this one was huge but it really held up. Rating: 5/5

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda | Becky Albertalli

Books Read in April 2018 | Quick Lit

The Love, Simon movie came out this month and I kept hearing about it. I picked it up, even though I don't typically read YA. I make exceptions for ones that have a good message or great reviews. Simon vs the Homosapiens Agenda tells the story about Simon- a high schooler who is going through the normal high school things like falling in love, but also has to deal with someone outing him against his wishes. So readable for adults and teens. Rating: 4/5

Tangerine | Christine Mangan

Books Read in April 2018 | Quick Lit

A book for those who are fans of books with twisted female friendships and a strong sense of setting. I really enjoyed this- it's a slow burn that's set in the captivating Tangier, Morocco. Full review here. Rating: 3.5/5

Providence | Caroline Kepnes 

Books Read in April 2018 | Quick Lit

From the author of You! This was definitely the most unique book I've read in awhile. Jon gets kidnapped as a kid and comes back years later... changed. His best friend, Chloe, is heartbroken but channels her sadness through her art. Down the road, we're introduced to Eggs, a dogged detective, and Lo, his wife. Eggs and Lo have one of the more touching and relatable relationships I've read about in awhile and you find yourself rooting for Jon, Chloe, and Eggs, even though their best interests are often in direct opposition to one another's. Out June 19th. Preorder here. Rating: 3.75/5

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo | Taylor Jenkins Reid 

Books Read in April 2018 | Quick Lit

World famous actress Evelyn Hugo is finally ready for her tell all- she wants to tell her true story. She selects the previously unknown Monique Grant to write it and refuses to tell her story to anyone but her. We find out about her fight for fame and finally get the answer to: "who was the love of your life?" I read it in a day, thanks to a super long car ride. Pick this up! Rating: 5/5

From the Corner of the Oval: A Memoir | Rebecca Dorey-Stein 

Books Read in April 2018 | Quick Lit

In the spirit of Thanks Obama, My Hopey, Changey, White House Years comes From the Corner of the Oval by Beck Dorey-Stein. Beck is finding her way as a young 20-something in Washington DC. She's working a couple of jobs to help ends meet and answers a Craigslist ad, assuming it's just another job. She's stunned to find out that it's a position as a stenographer -in the Obama White House. I'm finding it hard to express just how much I enjoyed this book. I loved getting to read about life inside the administration, but the part that sticks for me was reading about Beck's relationships with the other employees. She's so relatable and funny and writes with an incredibly authentic voice. Warning: this will likely make you miss 44, if you haven't been already. Rating: 5/5

We Are Never Meeting in Real Life | Samantha Irby 

Books Read in April 2018 | Quick Lit

My second hilarious memoir of the month- this one I took in on audio. Samantha Irby is a blogger turned author who doesn't hold back. This is a collection of essays and she writes about her bisexuality, sex, families, race, body image, on being regularly mistaken for Roxane Gay, and her anthropomorphized cat Helen Keller. Definitely NSFW! Rating: 4/5

Bluebird, Bluebird | Attica Locke 

Books Read in April 2018 | Quick Lit

Racial tension runs high in Bluebird, Bluebird. Darren Mathews is a Texas Ranger who finds himself investigating the deaths of a black man and a white woman in small town Lark Texas. He's stuck in the middle of the African American locals and the white local law enforcement, neither of whom trust him. This book was a wonderful police procedural that kept me guessing. I loved Attica Locke's writing style- she tackles the hard stuff head on and doesn't mince words. I'll definitely be reading more of this author!  Rating: 4.5/5

I'll Be Gone In The Dark: One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer | Michelle McNamara 

Books Read in April 2018 | Quick Lit

This took me awhile to get through but it's very much worth it. The Golden State Killer raped and murdered people up and down California over the course of 20 years... but was never caught. Michelle McNamara was the author of a crime blog and wife of actor Patton Oswald. She was a fantastic researcher and made this book to detail her findings. Sadly, she passed away before she finished it at the young age of 46. This was so readable and interesting and done in such a respectful way. If you're into true crime, I recommend this highly! Rating: 4.5/5

All We Ever Wanted | Emily Giffin

Books Read in April 2018 | Quick Lit

This was a surprisingly deep and touching book. I've been a long time fan of Emily Giffin but her last few left me wanting. All We Ever Wanted started off like a standard rich people problems book but evolved into a discussion on moral and ethical dilemmas. What does one do when what's right and what's best for your family are in competition with each other? I loved reading about a single father who's very aware of his faults but is doing his best. The author does a very good job writing both the parents and kids sides and the reader gets a solid- if abrupt- conclusion. For fans of You Will Know Me or Anatomy of a Scandal. Release date- June 26th. Preorder here. Rating: 4/5

That's it from me! What have you been reading? 

Find me here,

BLOGLOVIN' | FACEBOOK | GOODREADS PINTEREST | INSTAGRAM  | TWITTER

ย 

Review | Providence | Caroline Kepnes

Review | Providence | Caroline Kepnes

Four Book Friday | Best Opening Lines | #BookishBloggersUnite

Four Book Friday | Best Opening Lines | #BookishBloggersUnite