Welcome Page | TBR Etc.

Hi.

Welcome to TBR Etc.! I write about books. 

Favorite New Releases Read in 2018 (so far) &  What I'll Be Reading Next

Favorite New Releases Read in 2018 (so far) & What I'll Be Reading Next

Best Books I've Read So Far in 2018

I am a self-diagnosed new release addict. Of the 50 books I've read so far in 2018, 27 have been published this year. 27!! So I wanted to share a couple of my favorites I've read this year that were also published in 2018. There are SO many wonderful books that have been published this year so at the bottom, I'm sharing the 5 new releases that I'm committing to reading to by the end of the year. 

An American Marriage | Tayari Jones 

 Free copy sent by the publisher 

Free copy sent by the publisher 

The second book I read this year might be my favorite of the year. Two newlyweds get thrown into an impossible situation and have to navigate the unthinkable. This would be a great book for book club discussion-  Oprah also apparently agrees. So far, this is the book I'm predicting will be chosen as tops on a lot of the best of the year lists.  Review here

I'll Be Gone In The Dark | Michelle McNamara

I'll Be Gone in the Dark | Favorite New Releases | TBR Etc

I'll never forget this book. Michelle McNamara presents years of evidence with the goal of unmasking the Golden State Killer- a term she coined. He was a rapist turned murderer who terrorized Northern California over the course of a decade, and the case remained unsolved for thirty years. Not to be a total hipster, but I read this before the Golden State Killer was caught, adding another incredible layer to the experience. Its become by favorite true crime novel of all time. I was touched by the book's backstory- McNamara died unexpectedly before this could be finished- and found the whole thing equal parts disturbing and captivating. Review here

The Hunger | Alma Katsu

The Hunger | Favorite New Releases | TBR Etc

This has the most unique premise I've read this year. It's a fictionalized account of what actually happened to the ill fated Donner party on their travels West. Fans of See What I Have Done and Stephen King will dig the atmospheric writing and doomed characters. This had me running to Google to see what happened to those that survived. 

The Woman in the Window | A. J. Finn

The Woman in the Window | Favorite New Releases | TBR Etc

I genuinely could not put this book down. An agoraphobic alcoholic psychologist bears witness to a crime at her neighbors' house, and no one believes her. This was a much hyped thriller that holds up to the praise. It will definitely be turned into a movie. 

From the Corner of the Oval | Beck Dorey Stein

 Free copy sent by the publisher!

Free copy sent by the publisher!

This was one of those books that just hit me at the right time. It's an memoir from an Obama staffer, Beck Dorey Stein, who answered an ad on Craigslist and found herself as a White House stenographer. Despite all of the history thats happening around her, she still goes through the same things as many 20 somethings who are trying to figure out love and careers. The author is so genuine, and I felt like I was sharing stories with a friend. *Out July 10th.

Tell me what books you loved the most so far this year in the comments below! I have a feeling some of you will be talking about the picks that I'm about to mention. 

On my "must read" list for the rest of 2018:

There There | Tommy Orange

A must read #ownvoices novel about what its like as a Native American, to live on a land that was taken from your ancestors and to feel like you both belong and don't belong. 

The Book of M | Peng Shepherd 

In this world, shadows are disappearing. Those affected gain a strange new power, but at a cost- their memories are stripped away from them. I am in the mood for a dystopian story- it's been awhile! 

Us Against You | Fredrik Bachman

The sequel to the stunning book, Beartown. Couldn't tell you what's taking me to long to get to it. 

The Book of Essie | Meghan MacLean Weir

A young girl has grown up on reality tv as the youngest member of the Hicks family, an evangelistic version of the Kardashians. The book opens with Essie pregnant, wondering how her family will decide to handle it. She is not in the room for these discussions because she knows she has no say. I'm a sucker for any book with a reality TV angle. 

The Great Believers | Rebecca Makkai

Set in Chicago and for fans of A Little Life and The Hearts Invisible Furies? Of course I'm reading this. 

Find me here,

BLOGLOVIN' | FACEBOOK | GOODREADS PINTEREST | INSTAGRAM  | TWITTER

Review | Before and Again | Barbara Delinsky

Review | Before and Again | Barbara Delinsky

Review | The Garden of Blue Roses | Michael Barsa

Review | The Garden of Blue Roses | Michael Barsa